Listen to all songs on YouTube!

Find lyrics here on AirPlay Direct!


Doug’s current release Terlingua Moon is his 10th full-length album. (first 4 titles no longer available) He has also contributed to multiple compilation albums.

Terlingua Moon (2023)

1 Terlingua Moon

2 Rounder

3 Ranch Truck

4 I’m Not Crazy Yet *

5 Flip Flop Town

6 En La Mañana **

7 Volver ***

8 i declare ****

9 Eddie’s Banjo

10 BS (The Blazing Saddles Theme) *****

All written by Doug Moreland, except

* written by Doug Moreland & Billy Applegate,

** written by Doug Moreland, Roger Moon, & Alex Teller

*** written by Fernando Maldonado, translation by Doug Moreland

**** words by Thomas Jefferson, et al., music by Doug Moreland

***** written by John Morris & Mel Brooks, arr. by JD Pendley

Bring Back The Swing (2015)

1 Bring Back the Swing

2 Deep Dark Blue

3 Cotton Pickin’ Time

4 Down In Texas*

5 Rodeo Clown

6 Daddy in the Caddy**

7 Bread and Circus

8 El Muerto

9 Copybook Headings***

10 Taxes****

11 Living Water

12 Texas Dust

All written by Doug Moreland, except

* written by Terry Shand & William D Dunham, 1946

** written with Stoney Gabel adapted from Arkie Shibley’s "Hot Rod Race" & Charlie Ryan’s "Hot Rod Lincoln",

*** words by Rudyard Kipling, music by Doug Moreland,

**** words by unknown author, music by Doug Moreland

The Flying Armadillos (2012)

1 I’m Not Crazy Yet *

2 Cowboy Breakfast

3 Dance House

4 Busted

5 Shadows *

6 Pray For Rain

7 Dancehall Heroes **

8 Stand


10 The Wood Shed

11 Nero’s Fiddle

12 Live Free Or Die

13 Crockett's Fiddle

All written by Doug Moreland except

* written by Doug Moreland & Billy Applegate,

** writtenby Rob Harding

Barnstormer (2009)

1 The Tortilla

2 Windmill

3 Fly On

4 Play Me Back In Time *

5 World’s Inn

6 Marfa Lights

7 The Epic **

8 Hunting Bear

9 Bigfoot Waltz

10 Barnstormer

11 Die in the Desert***

All written by Doug Moreland except

* written by Doug Moreland & Billy Applegate, 

** written by Randy Crouch,

*** traditional

Doug Moreland (2006)

1 A Boy Like Me*

2 Never Gonna Go Back


3 Honeymoonlight

4 Dallas

5 Forever In Your Arms

6 Home To Me

7 Not Afraid To Fall

8 Houston **

9 Heaven Or Austin

10 The Beer Song ***

11 End of the Trail*

All written by Doug Moreland, 

* written with Matt Skinner & Dub Miller,

* written with Billy Applegate,

*** parody of Geoff Mack’s I’ve Been Everywhere

Everybody Knows My Name (2004)

1 Everybody Knows My Name

2 Baja Holiday

3 Happy Hour

4 Prayers and Wishes

5 The River Anthem

6 Easy Money

7 Southern Belle

8 Love LeeAnn

9 Skeleton

10 Carolina Moonshiner

11 The First

12 The Horses Toast

13 I’ll Never Be Homeless **

14 I Wanna Drive A Truck

15 Before I Leave Mexico **

16 Nothin’ But A Cowboy *

17 Horse Walking**

All written by Doug Moreland,

* written with Ryan Bingham, 

** written with Billy Applegate




In July 2023, Doug Moreland released his 10th fully independent album Terlingua Moon. The songs were recorded in his former "Cattlelacs" studio, now moved to a new location in Austin TX. The album again captures Doug’s light-hearted take on the seriousness of life. His traditional styling still gathers influence from the western swing of Bob Wills and the easy-going spirit of Jimmy Buffett, mixed with humor the likes of Roger Miller.

Originally from the Fort Davis mountains in west Texas, Doug Moreland performs a fresh twist of Texas and Western swing music, with his original songwriting and his top-notch band The Flying Armadillos. Being the eldest son of a wainwright, blacksmith, and fiddle-playing ranch hand, Doug set out in 1992 for music school as his first official step into the music business. After a short stint in Ruidoso NM as a funny man in a dinner show, he then toured with various acts around the country as a fiddle sideman. During this time, he recognized his desire to front his own band and write his own songs, and also discovered the art of chainsaw carving, which all brought him to Austin TX in late 1999. There he progressed from a comedic, solo act with a singing dog as the finale, into a full dancehall band with his wit and charm playing right back into a familiar instrumentation of twin fiddles, upright bass fiddle, swing guitar, mandolin, and minimal drums. In 2020, Doug placed roots in his former hometown in far west Texas. There he started a monthly Family Barn Dance with a big dance band in 2022.


Doug received a Will Rogers Cowboy Award for Western Music Male Performer of the Year from the Academy of Western Artists in 2007. He also received an Entertainer of the Year award from the Texas Music Awards in 2007. He played for the Austin City Council at a meeting declared by the Mayor as Doug Moreland Day in 2011. In 2015 and 2016, Doug won a nomination for Western Swing Male of the Year from the Ameripolitan Music Awards.


Doug’s tour has extended from the state of Texas, western across the country and even to Europe. The band has performed with well-established acts such as Willie Nelson, Asleep At The Wheel, Robert Earl Keen, Canadian Country Music star Corb Lund, and folk-rocker Ryan Bingham.

Doug appeared on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno in 2003 with his former companion Holly-peño (a black/white McNab dog). They appeared together on Animal Planet's Pet Star, as well as Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Doug has also made guest appearances in a handful of films, most notably the 2012 Richard Linklater film Bernie along with Jack Black and Shirley MacLaine.


Doug Moreland ~ 512-657-9586

PO Box 192 ~ Fort Davis, TX 79734


Doug and the band deliver an upbeat, family-friendly show, preferably between 45 minutes and 2 hours. In the far west Texas region, Doug's new "Barn Dance Band" serves up a delightfully danceable evening, even with dance lessons! Doug also produces an amusing, personable solo set with just his acoustic guitar & fiddle, or as a duo with upright bassist Randy Roberts.

Available for:

• Dancehalls & Honky-Tonks

• Private Parties, Corporate Events, Weddings, & House Parties

• Campfire / Intimate settings (acoustic solo, duo, or trio)